Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8

Old 09-06-2005, 03:19 AM

Default PLO high vs. PLO8

I just started playing some PLO8 this weekend after finishing Tenner/Krieger. PLO high has been my regular game over the last 2 months. I can't say I enjoyed playing PLO8 much, although I did pretty well (+140bb over about 3 hours.) The things I didn't really like are:

1. Hand requirements seem a lot tighter, so you play less. 2. The game itself is a lot slower since reading your hand takes more time to see what low and high hand you have and there are a LOT more draws to calculate
3. Play is a pretty straight forward as there is little need to get tricky, and you nearly always need to protect your made hands by betting/raising. PLO high seems like a richer game overall.

Main compensation I see for the above is that the big pots are often bigger than they are in PLO high.

Am I missing something about this game? I've gotten through half of Zee's book, but can't say it has added much to my impression of the game. PLO high and NLHE seem much more fun.
Old 09-06-2005, 04:04 AM

Default Re: PLO high vs. PLO8

[ QUOTE ]

1. Hand requirements seem a lot tighter, so you play less.

[/ QUOTE ]

Dunno, all the omaha games require tight play. O/8 tends to seem very tight, because if you play properly, you will rarely get involved after the flop.

[ QUOTE ]

3. Play is a pretty straight forward as there is little need to get tricky, and you nearly always need to protect your made hands by betting/raising. PLO high seems like a richer game overall.

[/ QUOTE ]

Play is much more straight forwards because it is alot more cautious, especially among good players. Simply put, good players try to avoid getting involved in situation where they may get 3/4rd or freerolled. That's always the first thing on you're mind, because in PLO/8 you will get plenty of action when you are beat.