Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-14-2005, 11:23 AM

Default SEP Investment Opinions/Suggestions Needed

I'm new to all this and the more I read, the more confused I get.

I just received my first retirement/profit sharing figure for my job. So now I have about $4500 to invest however I choose (not really).

I'm looking for suggestions on how to invest the money. I'm a total newbie at this. However, my boss said that it must be a SEP (Simplified Employee Pension) investment. It looks like there are SEP IRAs and mutual funds.

I figure to get around this amount of money to invest every year (assuming the company makes money).

One thing I was thinking about was investing the money in some sort of fund or IRA (Roth?) where I could somehow withraw the money before retirement to buy a piece of property as an investment.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 11-14-2005, 02:42 PM

Default Re: SEP Investment Opinions/Suggestions Needed

[ QUOTE ]

One thing I was thinking about was investing the money in some sort of fund or IRA (Roth?) where I could somehow withraw the money before retirement to buy a piece of property as an investment.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

[/ QUOTE ]

A mutual fund and an IRA are two different things. An IRA is a personal retirement account that you control. With the funds you place in it you can typically buy shares in mutual funds, individual stocks, or even individual bonds.

A SEP-IRA is a way of taking income (and employer contributions) and putting it in IRA without paying any taxes on it. You only pay taxes when you withdraw.

A Roth-IRA is a way of paying taxes on income now, and putting the after tax dollars into in an IRA and never paying taxes on it again (assuming gov. doesn't change rules).