Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-25-2005, 05:36 AM

Default Folding Nut Flush to Turned SF? 5/10

woof.

SB is good, has called me a "LAG" before. he is maybe 20/9 and plays good postflop in the 2000 or so hands we've played. he also does know that this is my first time playing this high and has taken a few shots at me in the past, but nothing ridiculous or out of likely +EV range.

two ep's limp, I (1.75K) call on co with A5[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], sb (covers) and bb come along too.

7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]9[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] (50)

sb leads for 50, folded to me, I make it $200, he calls

8[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] (450)

sb pushes, it's about 1500 to me.

i can see a good player making a move like this with a set to try and blow me off the A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] (which i'd play like this) but it seems pretty reckless given the possibility of drawing dead.

easy fold? easy call? bueller?

fim
Old 07-25-2005, 07:32 AM

Default Re: Folding Nut Flush to Turned SF? 5/10

If SB is a half-way reasonable player, I muck this every day of the week and twice on Saturdays.

I just don't get the impression from your post that this guy has balls big enough to make this bet without actually having it.
Old 07-25-2005, 08:11 AM

I'd expect someone with the SF to checkraise all-in here, so his push is a bit weird. Still, I don't think you can really call this.
Old 07-25-2005, 12:58 PM

You told him you really liked your hand by raising on the flop.

If he's holding the SF, isn't the best play for him to check the turn inducing you to put more money in the middle and then pushing? Given your flop play, I can't imagine playing a made SF from the SB any other way.

I'd definately call under these circumstances.