Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments

Old 05-11-2005, 07:46 AM

Default Silly?

I got scorched for my play in this hand. The railbird called my play silly and he continued on after I got eliminated. I didn't respond because I agreed with him, but I sent the HH to my buddy and he didn't see anything wrong with my play.

It was a cheap $5.50 + rebuys NLHE tourney and I had $16.50 invested, not that that matters. We were about 60 places away from the money which wasn't significant.

Thinking it over, maybe my buddy is right. Suppose I only raise 4x the BB and get re-raised, do I get away from JJ. Don't know, probably not. Probably a weakness in my game, but I'm not good at laying down big pairs preflop.

I had made a similar play earlier with QQ the orbit before and thought I might get someone to call with an underpair.

PokerStars Game #1674394124: Tournament #7715076, Hold'em No Limit - Level XI (600/1200) - 2005/05/10 - 21:19:16 (ET)
Table '7715076 13' Seat #4 is the button
Seat 1: infamous8cm (21446 in chips)
Seat 2: Toro85 (39304 in chips)
Seat 3: KansasJimmie (8948 in chips)
Seat 4: chansmaster (14187 in chips)
Seat 5: GOUPHI (25917 in chips)
Seat 6: hankdawson (39925 in chips)
Seat 7: sickdickey (52523 in chips)
Seat 9: jrstout (14654 in chips)
infamous8cm: posts the ante 75
Toro85: posts the ante 75
KansasJimmie: posts the ante 75
chansmaster: posts the ante 75
GOUPHI: posts the ante 75
hankdawson: posts the ante 75
sickdickey: posts the ante 75
jrstout: posts the ante 75
GOUPHI: posts small blind 600
hankdawson: posts big blind 1200
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Toro85 [Jh Jd]
sickdickey: folds
jrstout: folds
infamous8cm: folds
Toro85: raises 38029 to 39229 and is all-in
KansasJimmie: folds
chansmaster: folds
GOUPHI: folds
baby_mary is connected
hankdawson: calls 38029
*** FLOP *** [8c 4c 3c]
*** TURN *** [8c 4c 3c] [3d]
*** RIVER *** [8c 4c 3c 3d] [8d]
*** SHOW DOWN ***