Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Home Poker

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:13 PM
EMcWilliams EMcWilliams is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Smithtown School of Business
Posts: 115
Default Ruling please

So there is a cash game after a tourney amongst friends, the action is 6 handed.

The hand is folded to the CO, who raises 3xbb. The Button folds followed by the SB, who mulls over his hand for a few, makes his action, and the BB folds. The dealer asks if the action is right, and is told he is ok to flop.

The flop came 7Q7, and the SB then goes to say that the CO never called his "re-raise." The SB re-raised the CO, but did not say anything, and even allowed the flop to proceed when asked if ok. Whats the ruling of the hand here? The SB placed chips in the pot unannouced after being raised, so is that a raise under the "any chip in the pot pf not said to be a raise is a call" princple, or is the SB right in his claim he should just get the hand outright?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2005, 11:40 PM
Lottery Larry Lottery Larry is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: northwest of Philadelphia
Posts: 289
Default Re: Ruling please

[ QUOTE ]
or is the SB right in his claim he should just get the hand outright?

[/ QUOTE ]
HAHAHA! That SB is a funny guy... or was that SoB?

No raise preflop, action stands as a call and extra chips come back out of the pot if necessary
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2005, 07:26 AM
tubalkain tubalkain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Ruling please

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
or is the SB right in his claim he should just get the hand outright?

[/ QUOTE ]
HAHAHA! That SB is a funny guy... or was that SoB?

No raise preflop, action stands as a call and extra chips come back out of the pot if necessary

[/ QUOTE ]

Extra chips stay in the pot as a lesson to protect the action.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2005, 05:40 AM
smoore smoore is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 924
Default Re: Ruling please

IMO, call. He failed to protect his action by not stopping when the dealer asked, "OK?" He also gets kicked in the nuts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2005, 01:31 PM
J.Copperthite J.Copperthite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Ruling please

I agree w/ the other posters - the SB did not protect his action when the dealer asked to flop the cards and was told it was ok. However, as it is, if the SB put in his raise in one motion the action should be considered a raise, but given the situation where the dealer was ok'd to flop the cards and SB failed to take note of his raise before the flop was placed, it should count as a call and his raise returned to his stack.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2005, 02:35 PM
EMcWilliams EMcWilliams is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Smithtown School of Business
Posts: 115
Default Re: Ruling please

The SB was the house, and frankly is a bit older than 95% of the players, hence he automatically feels hes better than us. He pulled the "Ive been to Vegas, have you?" routine, and proceeded like normally to donk off his chips.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2005, 06:52 PM
valenzuela valenzuela is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 453
Default Re: Ruling please

[ QUOTE ]
The SB was the house, and frankly is a bit older than 95% of the players, hence he automatically feels hes better than us. He pulled the "Ive been to Vegas, have you?" routine, and proceeded like normally to donk off his chips.

[/ QUOTE ]

Arent u supposed to play home games with people you like?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:18 PM
EMcWilliams EMcWilliams is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Smithtown School of Business
Posts: 115
Default Re: Ruling please

We like his brother, and we like his poor play. My friend and I called the tourney nit fest winter 05, and he is the king of nits.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:51 AM
Scotty O Scotty O is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 128
Default Re: Ruling please

[ QUOTE ]
The dealer asks if the action is right, and is told he is ok to flop.

[/ QUOTE ]

Fire the dealer, he failed to pay attention! He is suppose to be in control of the game!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:57 PM
Zetack Zetack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 656
Default Re: Ruling please

[ QUOTE ]


The flop came 7Q7, and the SB then goes to say that the CO never called his "re-raise." The SB re-raised the CO, but did not say anything, and even allowed the flop to proceed when asked if ok. Whats the ruling of the hand here? The SB placed chips in the pot unannouced after being raised, so is that a raise under the "any chip in the pot pf not said to be a raise is a call" princple, or is the SB right in his claim he should just get the hand outright?

[/ QUOTE ]

I don't follow. Did the Sb put in one oversized chip? If so he called the original raise and there's no problem. If he put multiple chips in, then the principle you cite is inapplicable--when you put in more than one chip that is the size of your bet and you do not have to say raise.

Assuming he put in multiple chips that would comprise a legitimate raise, I don't see a rule that covers this situation in Robert's Rules of poker. The idea that SB automatically wins the pot is ridiculous, however.

IMO you could go one of three ways here. 1. Allow the CO, (who has now seen the flop) to complete the PF action and either call the SB's raise or fold and then continue with the flop action if he calls--(Sb can check or bet then action on Co).

2. You can proceed as normally except that Co will have to match the PF raise in addition to any other action when its his turn--so if Sb checks Co cannot check behind but must match the PF raise. If Sb checks and Co wishes to bet he must put in the PF call plus his bet and SB just has to match the bet and not the PF call. If Sb bets out, and Co calls or raises he must call or raise plus put in the PF call.

3. The Sb gets his raise back before action proceeds on the flop.

I like number three. Mistakes happen, and this was one of them. Number three does the least violence to the proper action of the rest of the hand.

In either one or two, the the CO can simply fold and the Sb loses any benefit from his PF raise. Too bad for him.

--Zetack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.