Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-29-2004, 11:11 AM

Default Poker DVD\'s : Any of them worth much?

Any of these any good? (caro/helmuth or howards?).

I have read plenty of poker books, this site and cardplayer, but wonder if any of these could help my game any.

Espicially the tells portion.... believe it or not, I learned something on Bravo watching them point out tells...
Even made a 600$ laydown because of one, which they showed...

thanks
-VI
Old 09-29-2004, 02:05 PM

Default Re: Poker DVD\'s : Any of them worth much?

I watched Howard's video this weekend. A friend of mine found it in a discount bin for $2.50, gave it to me for my birthday. It was worth $2.50 if you can find it, but not the $29.95. It is for total newbies. I did enjoy the art's and crafts section where Howard showed you how to create a cut card by taping 2 jokers together.
Old 09-29-2004, 02:52 PM

Default Mason said the next DVD is pretty good

for what it gives you. Search this forum for his review- he gave the second DVD a 9, if memory serves
Old 09-29-2004, 03:23 PM

Default Re: Mason said the next DVD is pretty good

Lederer's 2nd DVD is 100x better than the first!! Has anyone seen his DVD for Online poker?

Jonny
Old 09-29-2004, 03:56 PM

The <font color="blue"> Lederer </font> DVD's are much better than the <font color="brown"> Hellmuth </font>.
I've got <font color="blue"> Howard's </font>1st 2 and 4 of<font color="brown"> Phil's. </font>
The first <font color="blue"> HL </font> DVD is really for the beginner/novice. It does an excellent job of laying out the game and giving advice about preflop play. Also, the "how to" for running Home Tournaments is good. There were quite a few things we picked up there to run ours more smoothly.
A very good intro, especially if you have trouble finding the time to read.