Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-03-2005, 09:08 AM

Default Convince me to play 6-max

I mostly play full ring NL but 6-max seems to be far more popular (based solely on the 3:1 or greater ratio of 6-max to full ring tables on Party where I do most of my playing). Give me some good reasons to change.
Old 08-03-2005, 09:13 AM

Default Re: Convince me to play 6-max

I started playing them about a month ago, have only played them mostly at the $25 level and a little at the $50 level but you see much more stupid play. It also allows you to get deep and dominate inferior players with superior post-flop play more often.

Its quite lucrative, give it a try.
Old 08-03-2005, 09:13 AM

(1) It is more fun because you can play looser and more aggresively

(2) You can play more hands (4-tabling around 300 per hour if things are moving well).

(3) It is easier to dominate a table. The large field offers weak players protection in full ring.

It is more profitable for reasons (2) and (3).

Passion
Old 08-03-2005, 09:18 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I mostly play full ring NL but 6-max seems to be far more popular (based solely on the 3:1 or greater ratio of 6-max to full ring tables on Party where I do most of my playing). Give me some good reasons to change.

[/ QUOTE ]

IMO, this depends a lot on whether or not you are an "image player." In full ring, people tend to make less heroic calls against you, so I lay way more tight and passive. In 6 max I can play really loosely preflop and this is usually enough to gaurantee getting 100BB stacks in with TPTK and being good.
Old 08-03-2005, 09:24 AM

I think it is to fast. Mean i can play alot looser so i "raise", "Raise" evryhand almost think it becomes to much.
And the [censored] BB comes so fast. And it can be werry tough to play .