Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-18-2005, 11:48 AM

Default CFA Exam

Hello,
Been thinking about eventually taking the CFA but wanted to hear some experiences from others who have taken it.

Basically, I have an accounting degree, worked public accounting and now work at a hedge fund. I know for sure that I dont want to be a fund accountant for the rest of my life so I am thinking about a career change.

So here's my question: Even with the CFA title, what types of jobs can I potentially land? analyst? trader? Please keep in mind, I have no relevant experience in the finance side. Also, I am going to be 30 next year, is it too late for me to start a new career?

Any tips would be much appreciated.
Old 11-18-2005, 12:18 PM

Default Re: CFA Exam

Never too late in my opinion. If your firm will pay for the exam and books, I think it's a no-brainer to go for it. As for job titles, I'm not sure why you'd need a CFA to be a trader, but at some places it's indispensable in order to become an analyst. It sounds to me, though, that your first priority should probably be to figure out what you want to do other than "not a portfolio accountant."
-web, CFA, 32, buy-side analyst/port. mgr., former actuary
Old 11-18-2005, 12:22 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Never too late in my opinion. If your firm will pay for the exam and books, I think it's a no-brainer to go for it. As for job titles, I'm not sure why you'd need a CFA to be a trader, but at some places it's indispensable in order to become an analyst. It sounds to me, though, that your first priority should probably be to figure out what you want to do other than "not a portfolio accountant."

[/ QUOTE ]