Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2005, 06:09 PM
TGoldman TGoldman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 15
Default Semi-bluffing the turn

Omaha H/L PL ($100)
Seat 5: Villain ($96.50 in chips)
Seat 7: Hero ($107.75 in chips)
----- HOLE CARDS -----
dealt to Hero [Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]]
Villain: calls $1
folder: folds
Hero: calls $1
folder: folds
folder: folds
folder: folds
SB: calls $0.50
BB: checks
----- FLOP ----- [5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]]
SB: checks
BB: checks
Villain: bets $2
Hero: calls $2
SB: folds
BB: folds
----- TURN ----- [5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 2[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]][Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]]
Villain: bets $2
Hero: raises to $14

Is this a standard semi-bluff raise of villain's weak looking bet?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2005, 06:19 PM
Jorge10 Jorge10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Default Re: Semi-bluffing the turn

Pretty standard. I like the play, most people will probably call with their low draw, every once in a while you will reraised, but you got outs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2005, 07:15 PM
TGoldman TGoldman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Semi-bluffing the turn

Would you still make this raise if there was one person left to act behind the hero? Or is it best to keep these kinds of semi-bluff raises to heads-up situations?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2005, 08:00 PM
Jorge10 Jorge10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Default Re: Semi-bluffing the turn

[ QUOTE ]
Would you still make this raise if there was one person left to act behind the hero? Or is it best to keep these kinds of semi-bluff raises to heads-up situations?

[/ QUOTE ]

I think raising with 1 more to act behind you is ok, but more than 1 is probably a bad idea because the flop bet was too small. If 2 or more people called behind you they could have anything including a baby set or maybe all high cards and they arenít going anywhere after the turn, they might even come over the top if they hit two pair, a straight wrap or maybe even a set of queens.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2005, 02:49 AM
Cooker Cooker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 159
Default Re: Semi-bluffing the turn

I think this raise is pretty standard, but I don't think it is much of a semibluff. I wouldn't be surprised if villain has only some kind of draw (probably low only, but he might have A34 although I would bring the pain with that holding if I were him) and is making blocking bets, although I have seen some weak players tread carefully with lower sets this way as well. Still, I think you are often against A3 with nothing else, so you are probably raising for value here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2005, 03:51 AM
Ribbo Ribbo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 213
Default Re: Semi-bluffing the turn

That's a value bet, not a bluff....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.