Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded

Old 12-28-2005, 06:31 PM

Default quick question from a 6-max noob. . .

Okay, I'm pretty new at this 6max stuff, so I was wondering if you guys could help me with something. I think I'm betting my UI overcards too much. I would say that somewhere in the neighborhood of 75% of the time, when I miss the flop with overcards HU, I'm taking stabs on both the flop and the turn. About 25% of the time, I'll 3-bet the flop with them if I get raised. Would you say this is too much? I'm in the middle of a downswing, and I'm trying to spot some leaks. Do you guys feel I should depend on reads more? Or do you think I should pay closer attention to the board? Or is 75% about right?

I'll try to dig up some hands, but it seems like they would be pretty boring (Hero bets, hero bets, hero check/calls or check/folds).

Happy holidays.
Old 12-28-2005, 06:41 PM

Default Re: quick question from a 6-max noob. . .

[ QUOTE ]
I'll try to dig up some hands, but it seems like they would be pretty boring (Hero bets, hero bets, hero check/calls or check/folds).

[/ QUOTE ]

If you post reads, they could be pretty interesting. I don't think anyone here is going to be able to tell you how much in percentage terms you should bet UI overs though.
Old 12-28-2005, 06:49 PM

Hi Briddle-

This is a better question if you include an example hand. Against typical opponents (meaning basic 40/10s where I don't have too many hands on them and no notes) I bet UI overs every time in position against two opponents or fewer on the flop and usually continuation bet the turn. I make an exception if it's something truly frightening like 987 monotone, though.