Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-28-2005, 11:07 AM

Default Is this winning pattern unusual

First some background -- I'm a beginner (well advanced beginner). I find that when all is said and done, I'm beating 2-4 games for 2-3 big bets an hour, 4-8 for about the same, maybe a bit less. Low stakes NL games, I'm ahead, but really not enough playing time to make a statement.

Anyway, what I've noticed is that in general I'm playing even or losing slightly most of the time, but every session or so I hit the monster pot where I make all my money.

Is this usual? unusual? an indication that I'm just very lucky and need serious work on my game?

Wasn't sure of the right forum, but think that this was the right one.
Old 07-28-2005, 11:51 AM

Default Re: Is this winning pattern unusual

I am not pro, so perhaps someone can back me up on this, but I think it will all depend on your playing style.

If you are playing fairly loose, then I think this would be a normal pattern - since you are going in with regularity, you are less likely to fold people out - as such, when you do win, there should be more money in the pot.

If you play tighter, then you will wind up winning smaller pots because you will fold more people out - but as a result, you will probably actually win more hands overall because when you go in, a lot of the marginal hands will fold.
Old 07-28-2005, 12:36 PM

It sounds like you're playing live. If that's the case you're experience is going to be the norm.

Against those bad players (especially bad aggressive) you're variance increases. You'll be in alot of pots preflop 5 or 6 way with 25-35% equity usually. In these cases you're only winning the pot one out of 3 times, but when you do, it's very large.
Old 07-28-2005, 05:54 PM