Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-14-2005, 06:43 PM

Default being a backer

I am considering staking a friend of mine who is a very good poker player but stopped playing for a while to try and start a business. I'm looking at this as an investment opportunity. Does anyone here know how these arrangements are usually set up? He's an online limit ring game player. My thinking was that I'd give him 2k to get him started at 2-4 and maybe 3-6. Is this enough? Starting at these limits, he's capable of making 5k within a month easily.

Also, I don't have a clue how to structure our deal as I have no experience with this at all. I want to maximize my potential return while allowing him to build a roll as quickly as possible. Any and all ideas and input are welcome.

Thanks,
Marlow
Old 10-14-2005, 07:34 PM

Default Re: being a backer

Hey Marlow, I'd properly stake him with a 500ish BB bankroll and say that you'll take 25% of profits and rakeback at the end of the arrangement. I've done this and been very successful with it, while still helping the person build a roll at a reasonable rate.
-James
Old 10-14-2005, 09:37 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Hey Marlow, I'd properly stake him with a 500ish BB bankroll and say that you'll take 25% of profits and rakeback at the end of the arrangement. I've done this and been very successful with it, while still helping the person build a roll at a reasonable rate.
-James

[/ QUOTE ]

Are you serious? I can't imagine ever wanting to bankroll anybody unless my interest was personal and not from a money making standpoint.
Old 10-14-2005, 10:37 PM

Hi James,

Thanks for the response. How do determine when to end the arrangement?

Thanks,

Marlow
Old 10-14-2005, 10:38 PM

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
-James

[/ QUOTE ]