Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2005, 11:16 PM

Default I know I messed up, but should he have been in the had?

First post.

Ive been playing for about 3 months, and made my first final table last weekend- $3 entry, limit holdem, poker stars.

Down to 7 players, I had around $100,000 chips, bets were $6000/$12000. In SB I had K [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] A [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]. Two players limped, and I raised. They both called.

(7 small bets) Flop came 3 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] K [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] A [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. I bet, first player called, second player raised. I reraised, first player folded, second player called.

At this stage, I he had to have two high unpaired cards, so worst case I figured I was up against JQ or J10, giving him a gunshot, but more likely up against A or K with a Q or a J, most likely suited.

(7.5 big bets): Turn came 2 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]. I figured that there were only 4 possible outs to beat me if he had a gunshot. I checked, planning to raise if he bet. He checked, and I was now sure he was at best drawing with J10, Q10 or JQ.

(7.5 big bets): The river was a 4. I bet, he raised (I put this down to trying to scare me with A 2 3 4 on the board). I reraised and he capped. 15.5 big bets, or 186,000 chips.

He had 5 6 off suit, and my day was pretty much over.

In hindsight, I should have bet the turn, but should he have even been there at that stage? Does this qualify as a bad beat, or should I be blaming myself?
Old 02-10-2005, 11:34 PM

Default Re: I know I messed up, but should he have been in the had?

Dont know how he got to the final table with that kinda play in limit but , oh well I guess he was hitting cards all day.