Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling

Old 12-01-2005, 01:04 AM

Default Tax Question for Foreign Students in the US

I am currently an international student in the US on an F1 visa. Therefore, according to the IRS I am a non-resident alien. As a non-resident alien I only have to pay taxes on US sourced income. From what I've read on the IRS website it seems to me that online poker winnings are not US source income and therefore I do not have to pay taxes to the US goverment on my poker winnings.

Is there anyone out there why knows more about filing non-resident taxes in the US? Am I correct that I don't have to pay taxes to the US government on my poker winnings? If anyone has any information on this either way I'd really appreciate hearing it.
Old 12-01-2005, 01:40 PM

Default Re: Tax Question for Foreign Students in the US

I think your situation is unique enough that you probably won't get a knowledgable response here. It might be best to consult a tax professional.
Old 12-01-2005, 02:06 PM

I am in precisely the same situation as you, and have researched that very topic extensively. The key question, as you have synthesized, is whether online poker qualifies as a US-source income.

Check out the charts on this page:
http://www.payroll.ucla.edu/alien/c1usin...es-nonresidents

Here's the problem: online gambling doesn't really fit into any of those categories (employment, or independent personal services are the closest, but even those aren't perfect matches). If indeed it does fit under one of the above two categories, then the source is determined by "where the services are performed". We hit another complication here: Is gambling really performing any "service"?? Not really -- if you were determined to qualify what the "service" actually is in this activity, then it's really the service the poker site and its servers are providing to the player! And those are located in a foreign country.