Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-07-2005, 03:40 AM

Default Study Habits

I need help. Well it's not that bad yet, but I don't want to continue like this. I'm a third year student who's been slacking every since he entered school. I know a lot of us are like this, but I want to change this so I can improve my marks.

When I hit a rut in my homework (mostly when on labs) I just go browse OOT (and 2+2 in general), check email, and browse an almost endless number of poker and non-poker forums. I've tried to tell myself not only how important it is to pass the course, but to actually learn the material.

I've read countless posts on how important it is to finish school written by many respected posters here who have written something inspirational. It motivates me for about 10 minutes, then I fall back into the rut.

So far, I've cut back on poker by cashing out on stars; a habitual thing for me to do was to logon stars and sit in a good game for an hour. I haven't touched online poker for a few days and it feels good (though I will play a bit on weekends). Unfortunately this has just led to more web-browsing.

So I've read alot on procrastinating and it seems like the only thing that's left for me to do is to suck it up and motivate myself. Is this correct?
Old 10-07-2005, 04:00 AM

Default Re: Study Habits

i also have the same problem.

btw, I too go to UBC.
Old 10-07-2005, 04:01 AM

Yah...dude you need to buckle down for now.