Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-01-2005, 03:41 PM

Default Problems with flopping a single pair

I'm new to poker (only 1k hands online or so) and I really don't know how to play these single pairs. I know people want reads, but it was less than two orbits at the table when both of these hands occured.

***Hand 1***
Party Poker 0.5/1 Hold'em (10 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is BB with Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, <font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, SB completes, Hero checks.

Flop: (4 SB) A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, UTG+2 folds, MP1 calls, SB calls.

I'm thinking raise or fold, so I raise to narrow the field (maybe even get out a weak ace). If I'm raised, I figure I'm probably behind, and since the pot is small it'll be an easy check/fold on the turn if I don't improve. If I'm called by someone other than the SB... well, I don't know.

Turn: (5 BB) J[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP1 calls, SB folds.
See, and this is my problem. I wasn't raised on the flop so I think I'm ahead, and I figure that if I'm not ahead, someone will show me. I was the agressor on the last street, so again betting out seems reasonable.

River: (7 BB) 8[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP1 calls.

Final Pot: 9 BB