Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-20-2005, 08:44 AM

Default Downswings and bad play

Over the last 6 months I've gone up and down.
I have been reading GSTH and SSHM more than once(GSTH once actually.

Now, after each time I start to read, I feel more confident and play better over all. I tend to win money. Over time I start to play worse, and lose money. I feel very "scared". I do like to think I play the same, but whenever I have a downswing for over a week, I go back to the books. Shortly after I am full of confidens, and start to win again.

Guess what I'm saying is, it's too easy to forget what I've learned and start to make up my own rules.

Just a reflection of mine [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 09-20-2005, 07:23 PM

Default Re: Downswings and bad play

I just started playing online this summer. I'll definitely agree with you that reading good books improves your game and your confidence. This forum and some of the posters(big kudos to sheridancat and student especially) are a huge help as well.
Old 09-20-2005, 09:11 PM

I tried to think of a response to the OP and all I could come up with was this.
Old 09-20-2005, 09:32 PM

Do you think you're really *understanding* the concepts in SSHE or are you just temporarily memorizing them?

If you really focus on understanding not just the what, but also the why of the various plays, it should help you to win even more by making up your own rules to fit the game you're in, but they'll be the winning rules instead of leading you astray.

I know quite a few players who may know the right play in a certain spot, but they can't tell me why it's the correct play. They'll make this same play in a similar spot even when the play is no longer correct because they don't know why they're doing it. You may be falling prey to this to some extent.