Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded

Old 12-24-2005, 09:05 PM

Default Observations/Questions from a SH rookie

I just started playing the short-handed game. I play several different bonuses on sites and I figured it was time to make the switch. Bonuses clear so much faster, especially on the Crypto network. I was up like 25 BB and thinking I was a six-max badass when variance came and gave me a swift kick in the ass.

Here some questions/observations:

-When I have a high pocket-pair and an ace hits on the board, I tense up a bit. Is this natural? It just seems that so many players will play with an Ace. I am still aggressive but if there is much action I will back off and just call down.
-I also seem to play too many hands past the flop when there is a pretty good chance I am beat. The odds are allowing me to keep going though. I still probably need to work on laying it down when the odds are not there.
-I have my auto-rate setting from the full game. I know I need to make some adjustments. The set of rules I used were found in the Poker Tracker Guide. Does anyone know of a good set for the short-handed game?
-What, if any, adjustments do I need to make if the table goes to five-handed?
Old 12-24-2005, 09:19 PM

Default Re: Observations/Questions from a SH rookie

[ QUOTE ]
-When I have a high pocket-pair and an ace hits on the board, I tense up a bit. Is this natural? It just seems that so many players will play with an Ace. I am still aggressive but if there is much action I will back off and just call down.
-I also seem to play too many hands past the flop when there is a pretty good chance I am beat. The odds are allowing me to keep going though. I still probably need to work on laying it down when the odds are not there.

[/ QUOTE ]