Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:13 PM
PocketJokers72 PocketJokers72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shangri-La beneath the Summer Moon
Posts: 49
Default Theoretical question. Right here in the Pokar Thee-ree Forum too.

If you know your opponents holdings, can you make the correct EV decision, no matter how ugly it is?

NLHE Rebuy tourney 8-handed
blinds 400/800 no antes
HERO is chipleader by a large margin(T50K at the start of the hand). Last level of the rebuy period.


3 limpers

HERO on the button raises blind to T2500

SB fold
BB fold
2 folds
LP re-raises all in to T6000

LP flips over his cards prematurely, exposing 9c9h

HERO has yet to decide to call T3500 more, HERO looks and has Tc3s

Strictly from an EV standpoint, is this a call?

1200 (SB+BB) + 1600 = 3800 dead money, + HERO's initial 2500 + LP's 6000 = 11300 in pot. Calling 3500 into 11300 (3.2-ish to 1)

Please ignore the comedy of Hero's and LP's errors that leads up to this decision. Call or fold solely based on EV.

The other, less pertinent question is whether or not LP's hand should be dead, and if it is, what happens to the pot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:10 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Theoretical question. Right here in the Pokar Thee-ree Forum too.

Calling is right and it's not even close.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:21 AM
gomer gomer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Theoretical question. Right here in the Pokar Thee-ree Forum too.

sounds like a live tournament. the correct 'ev' decision depends on whether your table is going to be broken soon, and whether or not you want people to see you making such a terrible squeeze play. No matter what you do now, of course, you'll have better players popping you every time you raise, so i'd try and have a hand next time!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:54 AM
Buccaneer Buccaneer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default Re: Theoretical question. Right here in the Pokar Thee-ree Forum too.

[ QUOTE ]
The other, less pertinent question is whether or not LP's hand should be dead, and if it is, what happens to the pot.

[/ QUOTE ]

The hand is live but LP is only allowed to call and fold. He can not raise. At least that is the way it is where I play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.