Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2004, 01:52 AM
NoTalent NoTalent is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Default UB NL Tourney hand

Opponent is at seat 1 with 1615.
Hero is at seat 2 with 1475.

Ultimate Bet (4 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is Button with Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]. SB posts a blind of 20.
Hero raises 180, SB (poster) folds, BB folds, UTG calls.

Flop: 4[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
UTG checks, Hero bets 420, UTG calls.

Turn: 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
UTG checks, Hero bets 600, UTG calls.

River: 7[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
UTG bets 415 (All-In), Hero calls 275 (All-In).

Final Pot:
<font color="#990066">Main Pot: </font> &gt; <font color="white">Pot won by UTG ().</font>
<font color="#990066">Pot 2: </font>

Results in white below: <font color="white">
UTG shows Ah Jh (flush, ace high).
Hero shows Qs Qc (two pair, queens and sevens).
Outcome: UTG wins . </font>


I thought I was raising enough on each turn. Should have I gone all in on the flop? What is the proper move here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2004, 02:55 AM
CrisBrown CrisBrown is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,493
Default Re: UB NL Tourney hand

Hiya NT,

I think you played this fine. He just wasn't going to let go of his AJs in a four-handed situation, no matter what. You made him pay to chase his runner-runner flush, and that is about all you could've done. Your river bet into a three-flush is a bit suspect, but because it was a runner-runner I'd have bet it also. Most people won't chase a three-card flush at the flop, so I'm less worried about betting into a running flush.

In FTOP (Fundamental Theorem of Poker) terms, you "won" this hand, even though you lost the pot. That is, your opponent made a terrible mistake, and just got lucky. If you're doing that consistently, you'll be way ahead over the long run.

Cris
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2004, 07:20 PM
NoTalent NoTalent is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Default Re: UB NL Tourney hand

When I saw the last heart fall on the river, and he went all in--I just called because I didn't think it would be worth trying to come back from 215 chips to his huge stack.

Thanks for the advice chris. [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.