Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:27 AM
happyjaypee happyjaypee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 517
Default AA on a 3 flush / 3 connected flop

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $0.50 BB (9 handed) converter


Vilain as been playing good TAG so far, but I have raised him every time he limpped in the last hour. I just happenned to have good hands but he must be getting tired of it and I must have a LAG image to him.


MP3 ($10.30)
CO ($28.55)
Button ($30.35)
SB ($8.25)
BB ($19.90)
UTG ($55.70)
UTG+1 ($52.10)
MP1 ($12.40)
Hero ($124.05)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+1 calls $0.50, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $2.5</font>, <font color="#666666">5 folds</font>, UTG+1 calls $2.

Flop: ($5.75) 4[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 3[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
UTG+1 checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $4.5</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 raises to $49.6</font>


Now what? This is a HUGE overbet. I can only see him having a set, or a total bluff. Big PP whit a [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] are unlikely since he did'nt raise preflop. Also, would'nt it be better for him to try and milk me whit a flopped flush?

vs a set: Nut flush draw and gutshot wheels draw plus one of the remaining A saves me. That's a lot of outs but the price is really step to pay. But I do have the feeling he could be on a move because of my image.

Do I call here?


-Happy [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:34 AM
Alex/Mugaaz Alex/Mugaaz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 403
Default Re: AA on a 3 flush / 3 connected flop

If he has the flush you only have 7 outs, not 9 - keep that in mind.

His move is clearly stupid if he doesn't have the flush (though it's bad if he does have it, unless it's a small one). I think this is a clear fold, but I'd need to double check the math. However, you're capable of doing this yourself as well =).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:55 PM
happyjaypee happyjaypee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 517
Default RESULTS

I called, mostly becaus of the image he has of me. I would have folded most of the time here.

He had 77 no [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] and I toke it down


-Happy [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:23 PM
Godfather80 Godfather80 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: AA on a 3 flush / 3 connected flop

As long as you're properly bankrolled, you call this. If you're behind a set, you have outs to catch up. If you're behind a flush, you have outs to catch up.

Look at what your opponent is telling you. The bet screams "don't call me, LAG, I've got something this time". This makes sense with a set fearing flush draw. The bet also makes sense with a flush draw, an overpair, or a frustration bluff.

Given your opponents range of hands, you'll be ahead far more often than you'll be behind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.