Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em

Old 11-28-2005, 04:52 PM

Default Restealing.

This is an aspect of the game where i would like to get better. I know a lotta ppl think that defending blinds in NL is not a big deal, but i think it is.
For me reraising against a button or CO raise normally requires me to have....2 cards, unless the LP raisers havent done it very often.
I would like to know what kinda hands ppl resteal or defend their blinds with against habitual stealers, i think i do it more aggressively than is optimal.
Old 11-28-2005, 05:08 PM

Default Re: Restealing.

I think the best idea is to resteal from any position - don't make it about defending blinds all the time, with the obvious care that the position and tendencies of the original raiser necessitate. Also, limp-reraising w. hands other than AA or KK can be included in this strategy.

I'm far from an expert, bash away everyone.
Old 11-28-2005, 05:15 PM

Re-stealing out of position (like in the blinds or by limp/re-raising in EP) does not seem like a very profitable strategy to me against good opponents. Basically he is saying "I want to play a big pot in position" by raising and you are saying "Fine, let's play a really big pot when you have position". Unless the guy has shown that he will fold too often pre- or post-flop, in which case fine run him over, it just seems like a bad idea. Good players will obviously catch on to the fact that you don't always have premium hands in these spots and they will let you hang yourself since your only way to win the hand will be to get them to fold. It's just ugly playing 67o out of position against a preflop raiser when you completely miss the flop. Seems like you are just bloating the pot for them to win it postflop since they are playing with position and most likely the best hand, too.