Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-07-2004, 04:53 PM

Default How do you manage your bankroll?

OK, I'm familiar with the 300BB bankroll idea. I use it. Well, maybe I use more like 200BB, but I play on party. :-)
Mathematically, 300BB is supposed to keep you afloat as long as you are playing fairly well.

Let's say you move up a level. I just did this. I started with $100 at party playing $.5/$1 and ran it up to $500, where I switched to $1/$2. Now I just started playing $2/$4 and my BR is 300BB for that.

I would not have started playing $2/$4 with 150BB, so what happens if I go on a horrible streak and drop to 150BB? I'd be in a situation where I'm playing a game too rich for my BR. So if you were in this situation, would you drop down a level? How low do you have to get to do this?

Is there a modification to the simple 300BB rule where you regress to previous levels when you hit a certain BR? Should there be?
Old 10-07-2004, 05:34 PM

Default Re: How do you manage your bankroll?

one time i was up to 400 dollars and then dropped to 315. i got pissed so tried my luck at blackjack and dropped back down to 140. now im hovering around 300. So i guess not playing blackjack when your down on your luck is one way to manage bankroll [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 10-07-2004, 05:38 PM

I don't know if there's a hard-and-fast rule that people stick to, but if I had 300 BB at a level, and I dropped 150 BB, yes, I'd drop down.
Old 10-07-2004, 11:51 PM

Default Optimal bankroll growth