Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-19-2005, 07:20 AM

Default WR sacrifice when buying in shortish

So. i've decided that i'm goign to take a shot at the party 2k game, and since i haven't played close to those stakes in NL cash games i was probably going to buy in for 1k while i'm "taking my shot", then if i get more comfortable i'll start buyin in full.

i've never done this before, but Barry G's book suggests that its a good idea for taking shots, and his reasoning made sense to me.

has anyone taken a shot in these games with only 50BB buyins? or does anyone know how much it would hurt my WR, assuming that i am a winning player?

mostly i'm wonde than ring if the decrease in WR will be more significant than the decrease in variance. so like if i were to take a 7-8k shot, would i have a better or worse chance of getting going before i lose it by buying in for 50BB, or 100? i know of course this will depend on my skill and game selection, but just assume that i'm a decent, winning player, but not like world class or anything. and since its higher limits that i'm used to i'll be playing only 1 game, or maybe 2 if i find 2 really good ones. so game selection will probably be my strongest aspect.

btw, i know this is the lamest question when i was in LHE, as every newb would ask it at least once in each room (micro, ss, and mid/high), so i'm going to appoligize in advance. but what can be expected to be a BB/100 in this game with good selection for

1)OK player
2)good player and
3)great player.