Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2005, 10:54 PM

Default Suited Connectors and Suited Aces at NL 6max

I'm new to NL after playing limit for awhile, and Im wondering about these two types of hands. I feel I limp with them alot, and don't ever get anything out of them.
Flush draws seem basically worthless, because you dont get the odds on them, and the implied odds are really bad too; they're just too obvious.
Open ended straight draws are better because they're well hidden, but its even harder to get appropriate odds on them, especially since if the board is paired or has a possible flush, you cant bet aggressively for value.

Ive read statements like: Say you're playing 67s, and theres a preflop raiser, and the flop is A67, then you can get a huge pot. Umm, that would be true for any two cards, since in this situation the suitedness and connectedness of your cards is irrelevant.

(suited aces seem even more useless to me than suited connectors, for obvious reasons)

So do you play suited connectors and aces only when your opponents are total loose passive fish?
Wha'ts the deal?
Old 08-15-2005, 11:19 PM

Default Re: Suited Connectors and Suited Aces at NL 6max

Don't limp with suited aces if you're the first one into the pot. Ideally, you would want to play them on the button or cutoff with a couple of limpers infront of you. Suited connectors are generally a leak at low stakes NL IMO, because as you mentioned you're rarely getting proper odds to chase your draws and you don't have much folding equity against donks if you semi bluff raise with them. They're very high variance hands as well, another reason why I like to stay away from them.

Good question by the way.
Old 08-15-2005, 11:37 PM