Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-21-2004, 01:27 PM

Default Stud/8 hand - (5s 3s) As

I'm just starting to learn Stud/8 and find the whole high-low dynamic to be interesting. This is my first Stud/8 hand post. My question is should I have folded this at any point? I started with a great two-way hand, paired on fourth, made a four-flush on fifth, got aces up on sixth and bricked on seventh.

It seems like fourth would have been the time to fold. I nearly bet out as a semi-bluff, but decided that against bad non-thinking players, this wasn't a good idea. I also nearly folded on fourth, but every other street seemed like a pretty easy call.

When the hearts check-raised on 6th, it looked like he had made his flush, but I had a lot of outs to a higher flush or full house. When I bricked on the river, was my fold weak? I suppose he could have started with split nines and been raising sixth with a garbage two pair.

Party Poker 0.50/1 (0.25 ante) Seven Card Stud High/Low (8 handed) converter

3rd Street: (4 SB) <font color="blue">(8 players)</font>
Seat 1: xx xx 2[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
Seat 2: xx xx 4[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
Seat 3: xx xx 6[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
Seat 4: xx xx Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
Seat 5: xx xx Q[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
Hero: 5[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]
Seat 7: xx xx 5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
Seat 8: xx xx 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]

Action: Seat 1 brings it in for $0.25, folded to Hero who completes, Seat 7 calls, Seat 8 calls, Seat 1 calls.

4th Street: (8 SB) <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
Seat 1: xx xx 2[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]