Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology

Old 12-26-2005, 07:53 PM

Default I am scared of succeeding

This is pretty hard for me to put out there especially a public place such as the internet, but it is something I have finally decided to face. Ever since I entered school as small child I was always told I was extremely intelligent and mature for my age. I was put in advanced classes because of my test scores and was always complimented by my parents because of this which made me feel good. I was an extremely good student and had straight A’s until 6th grade.

However, when I entered Jr. High I lost any interest I had in my classes and began to devote myself to reading books such as the Catcher in the Rye and playing the game Magic: The Gathering. I posted my first B in the history of my school career in the first quarter of sixth grade and my parents were furious. My dad yelled at me for hours on end about how I would be a failure if I didn’t get my act together. I was so traumatized by his anger that I started to hide report cards from my father.

Starting in High School I approached it with a strong desire to perform well to please my father and get into a prestigious college. I decided to attend a magnet science school which my father consistently told me was above my head. I didn’t believe him but once again my grades were mediocre and this continued until my senior year.