Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Other Poker Games

Old 11-19-2005, 02:19 PM

Default Half Pot Limit Badugi

I'm a Badugi newbie so I'm just messing around with the micro-limits on Doyle's Room/Tribeca. I played "Half Pot Limit" (with $0.05/$0.10 blinds) for the first time today, a betting format I've never played before. I had a good session (ran $20 to $45), but I was pretty much just betting the "half pot" max everytime I was in a situation where I thought betting was appropriate, with the exception of one time when I had a 6-hi badugi after the last draw and made a small "please call me" bet that 2 guys called. Is this pretty much it for betting strategy in a half pot game or I am missing some of the subtle points?
Old 11-20-2005, 04:57 PM

Default Re: Half Pot Limit Badugi

I think this is correct. I was betting small on the end with a monster hand too, but it may be better to bet big because when you are bluffing, you will also want to bet big.
Old 11-20-2005, 07:36 PM

I tried playing HL Badugi earlier this week, but I found my opponents were inflating the pot in a big-dick swinging contest. Playing PLO I can handle this, but playing HL Badugi it tended to put me on tilt a but. Any strategies for when it is safe to call a 1/2 pot bet from an aggressor?

TT [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
Old 11-20-2005, 08:55 PM

It's hard to say when it's safe. A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]2 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]3 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] and drawing 3 times will only give you a Badugi 49 percent of the time.

If you think any Badugi will win then you can safely call if you think you'll be able to get good implied odds.