Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-19-2005, 05:32 PM

Default Help!

My mom just gave me $10,000 to help pay off my student loans. I am currently in school and these loans do not start earning interest until I graduate, which is June 2007. What is the best way to earn interest on this 10K in that time frame? I was thinking about putting it in an S&P500 index fund (ETF). What are my other options and what is the best for this situation?

thanks for your help in advance
Old 09-19-2005, 05:44 PM

Default Re: Help!

You've got two options: Blackjack or roulette. [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Ok now seriously, if I had 10k I'd just put it in a CD and get their low interest rate because it's guaranteed. However, I'm a real newb and just read like 2 books. One of the books I read said that you can lose money in index funds over the short term (your case), but over the long term it's a good investment.
Old 09-20-2005, 11:17 AM

Yeah, you definitely don't want to lose money in this situation. You don't have any earning power, and you won't have much for a couple years after you graduate, so you can't make up losses very easily. Just stick it in 2-year CD. Shop around for the best rate or incentive.

If you saw Bowling for Columbine, you'll know that some banks will give you a gun for buying a 10k CD with them. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 09-20-2005, 11:29 AM

I agree. Standard advice is don't put money on the stock market unless your time horizon is 5 years or more, because you can easily be underwater in the short term, especially if we go into a recession.

Retirees and people who will need their money soon should generally pick something safe and secure. With a one-year CD you will keep pace with, or slightly beat inflation, and the money will be there when you need to pay off your students loans.