Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-13-2005, 11:18 AM

Default In which order should I read these books?

Warning: I'm a newbie.
I play only at Party .5/1 and played over 10K hands. I received the following books today:
TOP (Sklansky)
SSHE (Ed Miller)
Hold'Em Poker (Sklansky)
HEFAP (Sklansky)
WLLHE (Lee Jones)
First time I ever played poker was at Party and from 3K on I always 4-table and have +3BB/100 hands (using PE). My knowledge is based on information I got from the internet (SSHE preflop sheet and these forums mainly). I printed some and studied it. So I clearly have lots of thing to learn.
In what order would you suggest I read these books and also why? (As I imagine not everyone will agree with you.)
If it matters: I had lots of math at university so suited connectors, pot odds, ... are things I estimate I can understand (but probably not completely) without having a huge playing experience. Thanks for your advice.
Old 06-13-2005, 11:35 AM

Default Re: In which order should I read these books?

When you have a solid foundation you don't need any Hold'em Poker or WLLH.

Start with SSH then ToP and HEPFAP. ToP makes HEPFAP easier to udnerstand.
Old 06-13-2005, 11:37 AM

Read these five in this order

Although Ed's GSIH came out after Clark made this post and he might now list that book first rather than WLLH.
Old 06-13-2005, 11:40 AM

Based on the bio you've described, you're probably already past WLLHE. Skim through it first to make sure you're not overlooking anything. I've never read Holdem Poker, but its one you should probably just skim over and not dwell on.

Give TOP a good read early to make sure you have a good grounding in general poker concepts, and that your "mathematical poker" is up to speed. You'll want to reread this book several times over the next year or so.