Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-25-2005, 05:33 AM

Default Dodging the Blinds?

Newbie here.

What are people's views on players that sit themselves out when the Blinds come through, and then immediately sit-back in again after they have passed?

I came across a guy on Party on a 25PL table that did this consistently for a couple of hours yesterday.

It strikes me as being cheap and slightly absurd.

Is it considered bad Poker etiquette?

Regards,

Rob
Old 05-25-2005, 05:34 AM

Default Re: Dodging the Blinds?

People that do that have to put EXTRA money in... so in fact, if there are people doing that, they have very much so retarded. I assure you, people aren't doing it on purpose to "dodge" the blinds.

Next time someone sits out and doesn't wait for the big blind to come back to him/her, look at the middle of the pot, there'll be extra money there, it's from that player.
Old 05-25-2005, 05:38 AM

Most the pros do this. It's the only way good money playing poker. Search around online and you can find a program that will do it for you.
Old 05-25-2005, 05:45 AM

Don't download anything of the sort, if you find something like that, it'll probably be a virus.

I dunno why people are so mean to newbies.
Old 05-25-2005, 05:50 AM

[ QUOTE ]
People that do that have to put EXTRA money in... so in fact, if there are people doing that, they have very much so retarded. I assure you, people aren't doing it on purpose to "dodge" the blinds.

Next time someone sits out and doesn't wait for the big blind to come back to him/her, look at the middle of the pot, there'll be extra money there, it's from that player.

[/ QUOTE ]

Well they aren't putting "extra money in", they are simply paying both blinds to post in the cutoff, i.e. they post the big blind in front of them, and they "post" the small blind straight into the pot (a dead blind).