Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:51 PM
otter otter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Default how do I change my IP address?

Is there a way to change your IP address? I have a cable modem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2005, 03:05 AM
wonderwes wonderwes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 14
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

Usually your cable modem will get the same ip address even when you renew. Here are the steps

Go to run, type command hit ok
Opens a dos prompt:
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
and for help just type ipconfig ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2005, 06:02 PM
CORed CORed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 273
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

Actually on XP, 2000 or NT, you should type "cmd" not "command" "command" will work, but it runs command.com, a DOS program that is included for DOS compatability (DOS programs may need command.com to open a shell or run DOS commands). Some features, like using the arrow keys to recall and edit commands won't wokr with command.com. "cmd" runs cmd.exe, a Windows console mode program that looks like (but really isn't) a DOS prompt.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:38 AM
Percula Percula is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

[ QUOTE ]
Is there a way to change your IP address? I have a cable modem.

[/ QUOTE ]

Which IP are you talking about, assuming you have a broadband router of some kind?

If you mean your PC IP, then follow the post that has already been made.

If you mean the IP of the cable modem. Call your ISP and ask for a new one. Many cable companies use DHCP reserves and have to make a change on their DHCP server to change it. They may or may not change it for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:16 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

Yeah most Cable companies do automatic DHCP assignment which means renewing it will still get you the same IP.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:46 PM
kjander kjander is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

For the most part I am network illiterate and I was able to get a new IP address from my cable company last year when i lived in a house with roomates and a coupel of us played poker and jsut didn't want to risk the site closing our account for some reason since you supposedly can only have 1 computer on per IP address.

What i had to do what subscribe to an additional IP address, witch was $3 a month. Get a switch hub thing and plug that in after the modem. Then from there I put one cat5 to the routher to the rest of the guys in the house and one cat5 directly to my computer. The people at my cable company walked me throught he IP release and renew type of stuff that everyone else is talking about. It was relatively simple.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:18 PM
SamJack SamJack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 436
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

This is correct for most part. release and renewing ip address one after another will likely get you the same ip back.

You may get a new ip however, if you release and wait a while (say a day or two), you may get a different address back.

If you have a router, you will have to look at your router manual to see how you can release and renew your ip cause simply typing ipconfig /release from your computer will not do it since you are releasing the ip that your router assigned you.

SamJack
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:41 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

Where would you find information on accessing the router and release/renewing the router IP?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:50 PM
SamJack SamJack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 436
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

That would depend on the router. Go to the website for your router brand and download the manual...

SamJack
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:13 AM
otter otter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Default Re: how do I change my IP address?

I have a linksys router, but actually just one computer now. Despite that the cable modem goes through it and then into my computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.