Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Texas Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-21-2005, 09:10 PM

Default Advice From Current Pros- Quit a $100K Job? (long)

I know, another one of those going pro threads... but I'd like to hear from some people who may have been in a similar situation or have some insight on playing for a living.

A little background: I'm a long time lurker and occasional poster, however, since I'm going to be discussing win rates and money won in this thread, I started a new account to do it anonymously.

I started playing in Feb/Mar 2003. I made about $20K in 2003, $60K in 2004, and have made about $160K so far this year. I would guess I average about 15-20 hours per week (normally around 1 and half to 2 hours in the a.m. prior to work and 1-3 on the weekends).

I’m 33 and a lawyer with a firm in Arizona. I make $110,000 plus bonus-- which is typically between $5K and $10K each year. I’ve been with the firm for five years. It’s a good place to work as far as law firms go, but I really don’t enjoy the stuff that I’m doing (and haven’t for a couple years now). At the same time, the hours are pretty reasonable, and I probably put in 45-50 hours a week on average. If I left my job for a year or two, I could probably find another one pretty easily, though it would hard to find one that pays the same considering the gap in my resume.

A couple other notes that may be improtant: Between my wife and I we have about $400K in savings (including retirement accounts). So I have plenty of money saved up for expenses and wouldn't be hurt by a bad couple months.

On the other hand my wife and I just had our first baby less than two months ago and are having a house built which will be ready in April 2006. This will obviously add significantly to our expenses.