Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High

Old 12-08-2004, 01:43 PM

Default How do you play the nuts here.

Let me start out by introducing myself a bit. I am a fairly long time 2+2 forum reader, not a frequent poster, and PLo is one of my favorite games to play. I would consider myself a self-taught PLo player, that has had decent success, and is in general much better then the average PLo player you will find online.

Anyway on to the hand in question.

The game is $50 PLo on Party. Hero has the deepest stack at the table (Just over $200).

Hero is dealt A [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 9 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] J [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] from the BB.

Two new players to the table post a BB of $1. Flop is 6 way in an unraised pot. ($5.70)

Flop comes 8 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] T [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]

Hero bets pot ($5.70). Two folds, raise from MP to $14.10, reraise from the button to $53.70 (All-in).

Action comes back to hero, who has MP covered, but MP has a larger stack then average. (Around 2x the buyin) What is your play here?

Of the three options I have (fold, call, raise) I don't particularily like any of them.

Comments on this hand please.

kipin
Old 12-08-2004, 03:21 PM

Default Re: How do you play the nuts here.

I think calling is out of the question, as hearts, kings, jacks, nines, and board pairs are all scare cards, and you're out of position. Folding is even more out of the question, because your hand is too good (and you're playing against Party $50 PLO players anyway); remember you have two of the jacks, so you're slightly less likely to be chopping. So raise.
Old 12-08-2004, 03:24 PM

Kings are good cards, just not the K [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]

King gives him a better straight
Old 12-08-2004, 03:25 PM