Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2004, 10:20 PM
NotMitch NotMitch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: AKA JoeRey
Posts: 248
Default JJ in the BB

Party $10 SNG. I have 625 after posting the BB and hold JJ. Blinds are 25/50 I have played one hand so far this tourney.

EP min raises to T100, CO calls folded to me. T275 in the pot and I pushed. I think calling and pushing are pretty close here, any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2004, 05:16 AM
jwvdcw jwvdcw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 182
Default Re: JJ in the BB

I have no problem at all with your push, as you have to do this when shortstacked.

I might have considered raising 1/2 your stack here and then the other 1/2 after the flop, no matter what flops, but either way is solid strategy. With the blinds climbing, you're not gonna probably see a better hand than pocket jacks with your low stack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2004, 08:31 AM
craig r craig r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: san diego
Posts: 84
Default Re: JJ in the BB

I would be kind of torn on pushing right here. Yes, you have a pretty good hand. But most of the players at the 5 and $10 SNG will call your all-in with AK or AQ. And then there is always the possibility you are running into AA, KK, or QQ. I would bump it a little, and if he puts you all in then it would not be a horrible fold. If the raiser (i am assuming typical player at these limits) puts you all in, you are either a very small favorite or a big dog (most of the time). Plus, the blinds are not that big yet. You might be able to find a better spot to get it all in. Especially once a few more people get knocked out. Then everybody gets into "scared mode" and this makes stealing much easier. Plus, you said it was an EP raiser, so he could be "begging" for a "re-raise" or be willing to call your all in if he doesn't put you on AA (unless he of course has them) and he has AK. I don't know though. Just my thoughts on this. I am still new at this and am not a huge fan of moving all-in with JJ at this stage in the tourn. hope this helps a little though.

craig r.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.