Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-24-2004, 07:27 PM

Default Dabbling in Game theory

i have a math background (degree from MIT) and have some knowledge of game theory. I have been considering learning a lot more about it in the hopes that I canimprove my poker game, especially NL. has anyone else tried/done this and does anyone believe it is a waste of time? and if you have done it, any tips or advice? Thanks. I realize this is a very general question.

Pat
Old 09-24-2004, 08:52 PM

Default Re: Dabbling in Game theory

I believe there is very little in the existing body of GT literature that will have a significant impact on improving your ability to win at Poker.

GT, in my limited understanding, is about analyzing optimal strategies between totally rational agents. Winning at Poker is about exploiting the errors of imperfect agents.

The classic example of applied GT in Poker is the development of optimal mixed strategies for deciding bluffing frequencies such that your opponent can't profit by always calling or always folding. With the right frequency, you put your opponent in a situation where it doesn't matter whether he calls or folds - thereby removing his ability to exploit your strategy with one of his own.

This is an incredibly interesting and important idea, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't come out of original GT texts - it's the result of guys Sklansky applying GT thinking to Poker. In other words, in terms of useful applications, there's more stuff coming out of Poker Theory then there is coming out of classic, traditional Game Theory.