Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: 12% PFR, folded to you
Raise 8 26.67%
Call 2 6.67%
Fold 20 66.67%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Old 09-26-2005, 01:14 PM

Default When to go pro?

I have been playing poker for a few years and dedicated myself to sng play for the last 10 months. I really hate my job and envy all you sng pros. I have now played over 2000 sngs and I am a little disapointed with the results, but I feel that I have plugged some leaks and gotten better and my actual results will be better in the future.
Results:
10's:
Played:1,222
Profit: $1563
ROI: 11.6%

20's:
played:788
Profit: $1218
ROI: 7%

Total SnG's played: 2010
Total Profit: $2,781
Total ROI: 9%
Rakeback: $193
Total ROI w/rakeback: 9.6%

My wish is to now move up to the 33's. I would 6 table for 8 hrs a day 5 days a week. If i can maitain even a small 5% ROI plus rakeback I will make around $3,600 a month. That is much more than the $12 an hour I now make at my current job.
I also have 20k in credit limit on credit cards wich would enable me to get by 1st few mnths if things go bad.
Old 09-26-2005, 01:20 PM

Default Re: When to go pro?

First, dont rely on credit, bad idea.

Second, I would stay at the 20s for a while and try and fix some leaks. 7% isnt great, but its positive and thats always good [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img], but the 30s are a step up so make sure you are ready for it. I've actually stayed at the 20s lately because I've found them to be much easier.
Old 09-26-2005, 01:22 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Should I quit my job and play SnG's for a living?

[/ QUOTE ]

if you have to ask, the answer is no

quit your job only when it is costing you an obscene amount of money not to