Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-20-2004, 05:07 PM

Default I have a serious problem - anybody ever try hypnosis?

Here's the scoop:

20 years ago I played a couple years of poker with no other income. I was weak/tight and unimaginative. I made about twice minimum wage and then got a "real" job. In Sept. of 2003 I started playing again, mostly on the internet. I began playing full-time last December and have moved from micros to $5/$10 and play a little higher on occasion.

If you have read some of my posts, I have a general idea how to play, and enjoy moderate success. My wife works, and I play about 100-150 hours a month and supply about a third of our income.

The problem I have is that I have finally built my bankroll to what I thought would be my comfort zone of 1000BB plus a side account with cash for tournaments in 2005. But:

I am scared to death of losing.
I will grind away for hours while up or down a few BB but if I hit a good hand or two and win $100+ I quit.
Whenever I bonus whore I want to play 4-tables of $1/$2 to clear it quickly and guarantee that I can see a profit, instead of just playing a couple $5/$10 and getting the best hourly rate.
I am so goal-oriented and worried about losing my BR that I am not getting in the hours I should. Instead, I cruise the 2+2, check my email etc. while playing just one game or none.

This is an honest and very embarrassing problem that is keeping me from making what I should, and moving up any higher. It is almost as if I have decided how much I should make (what my worth is) per month and am afraid or feel unworthy of making more.

I can't believe I just wrote this, but that's my situation. Any advice? Anybody tried hypnosis for mental conditioning?

Dogmeat [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]
Old 12-20-2004, 05:21 PM

Default Re: I have a serious problem - anybody ever try hypnosis?