Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > Science, Math, and Philosophy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2005, 06:32 PM

Default Zen Buddhism

Are there any Zen Buddhist on 2+2? I have been studying it for a few years. However living in Meridian, Mississippi does not leave alot of hope of finding a Zen Teacher to aid me or even a Zendo to Meditate. Any Suggestions???

I am extremely serious with this, and I am in no way attempting to stir up any controversy or add any more elements in the big "God/No God" debate.

Big Steve [img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Old 11-15-2005, 08:06 PM

Default Re: Zen Buddhism

I would not call my self a Zen Buddhist but I do meditate and have done some typical Zen meditation. I have also read extensively on the subject.
Books can be helpful. I can point you in some different directions that I find interesting, much of it free stuff on the web.
A living teacher is helpful. Even in Miss. you might find one if you really look hard. If you have the $$ to travel there are retreats and so forth that you can go on.
At the end of the day, zen is something you can do perfectly well on a cushion in your livingroom, anywhere in the world.
Feel free to send me a message and I will give you a list of web stuff, books and so forth.
-g
Old 11-15-2005, 08:19 PM

Found this on an internet search

Jackson Zen Group
4308 Old Canton Rd..
JACKSON, MS 39211
Tel: (+1-601) 982-0402
Denomination: Japanese Soto School
Affiliated to: Informally with New Orleans Zen Temple

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Starkville Zen Dojo
231 Santa Anita Drive
STARKVILLE, MS 39759
Tel: (+1-601) 324-3622
E-mail: tbland@futuresouth.com
Internet site
Denomination: Sawaki-Deshimaru True Soto Zen
Lineage: Robert Livingston
Teacher: Tony Bland
Affiliated to: New Orleans Zen Temple
Old 11-15-2005, 09:51 PM