Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-20-2005, 01:40 PM

Default New player, looking for an experienced players perspective

I've been playing for about 3 months now and I just found out about this forum about 2 weeks ago. I've done a lot of reading and from what my limited experience shows me is that I have two playing styles. Tight aggressive and loose aggressive. I tend to play tight aggressive and do very well, being able to tell what my opponents have or at least whether I am beat or not. As soon as I win a decent amount of money I start raising at the wrong times and think that my opponent is always bluffing. I have also been playing in stakes that my bankroll can't handle which is something I am changing since reading posts. What does this sound like to you guys. A good start that just needs experience. A new fish who thinks he's good. I tend to be a very pessimistic person and think that if I'm not better than everyone quickly, I really just don't have what it takes. Thanks for reading and any feedback is welcome. I can handle honesty.

Thanx
Old 04-20-2005, 01:57 PM

Default Re: New player, looking for an experienced players perspective

[ QUOTE ]

I tend to be a very pessimistic person and think that if I'm not better than everyone quickly, I really just don't have what it takes.

[/ QUOTE ]

Poker is not for you.
Old 04-20-2005, 02:07 PM

Hi Chris,

There is so much material written on this subject, so my advice is to keep an open mind and know that with every session that you play, there is always something to learn and improve on. Tight/Aggressive to you now may be Loose/Passive in one year's time. It's all relative. You have so little experience right now that to be pessimistic would be silly. Study the game, read books, post hands, be willing to learn and most importantly, enjoy playing...it's only a game. Good luck.