Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2005, 03:59 PM

Default My One-Year Anniversary on Twoplustwo

Tomorrow is my one-year anniversary on the boards so I thought I’d share a little bit about my online poker “career” and what I’ve learned in the past 365 days. It’s been a long road since these days link . For those of you who have been on the boards for awhile, I’d recommend going back and reading your earliest posts. Quite humbling let me tell you…

I started playing online around the fall of 2003. I deposited a few hundred dollars, played some 2/4 and 3/6 limit, a level much over my bankroll and skill and pretty much immediately got cleaned out. Of course that didn’t stop me from re-depositing but this time dipping my toe in the low-stakes no-limit games. I remember back then having a VPIP almost around 100% thinking that it’s only 50 cents to see the flop and had the potential to double up if I flopped a monster. I actually had some decent short-term results but it was only a matter of time until my bankroll dwindled to nothing. From then til the end of the year, I was in a cycle of depositing, cashing out some winnings if I had gotten lucky, re-depositing, going broke, re-depositing, etc.

Sometime in early 2004 I finally hit an upswing and was able to maintain a semblance of a bankroll. From like March to August I played about 30K hands of NL50 at about a 3BB/100 clip. Just goes to show that anyone can get lucky for a hand number of hands and the long-term is truly long-term.