Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2005, 11:22 AM
Slick14170 Slick14170 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
Default Can I get away from this hand?

Final four of 30+3 on pokerroom, I'm in sb and second in chips (3800) while bb is first in chips (5200). Utg and utg+1 both fold and i call other half of 300 blind with 6 8 suited. Flop comes 4 6 8 rainbow and I bet out 425 and bb calls. On turn a king comes and I bet 1000 and bb calls quickly. On river a jack comes (no flush) and i go all in, and bb calls and has 5 7 (the nuts), and I am out in 4th with no money. Was there anyway I could have prevented myself from losing my whole stack here, How should I have played this hand differently?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2005, 11:24 AM
zambonidrivr zambonidrivr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 295
Default Re: Can I get away from this hand?

i do the same thing. thats poker
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2005, 11:30 AM
shadyridr shadyridr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 46
Default Re: Can I get away from this hand?

[ QUOTE ]
Final four of 30+3 on pokerroom, I'm in sb and second in chips (3800) while bb is first in chips (5200). Utg and utg+1 both fold and i call other half of 300 blind with 6 8 suited. Flop comes 4 6 8 rainbow and I bet out 425 and bb calls. On turn a king comes and I bet 1000 and bb calls quickly. On river a jack comes (no flush) and i go all in, and bb calls and has 5 7 (the nuts), and I am out in 4th with no money. Was there anyway I could have prevented myself from losing my whole stack here, How should I have played this hand differently?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yeah either raise or fold PF. Why get involved with the big stack if you're just gonna call?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2005, 11:32 AM
Kristian Kristian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 157
Default Re: Can I get away from this hand?

No, you can't get away from it.
On the contrary, I bet more on flop and turn, considering how easy two pairs are to draw out on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:42 PM
the shadow the shadow is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: shadows abound all around
Posts: 150
Default Re: The answer is yes

Having nearly busted out of a MTT last night with AQ against AA with a AQx flop, I feel your pain, but have some questions for you:

When you bet the flop, what hand did you put the villian on? (Hint: It could be almost anything.)

When you bet the turn, what hand did you put the villian on? (Hint: He called your pot-sized flop bet, so he likely had a made hand, rather than a straight or flush draw or just overcards. You beat TPxK and an overpair, but how about a set?)

When you bet the river, what hand did you put villian on? (Hint: He called a bet of 1000. I think you can pretty much rule out overcards, single pair, and flush and straight draws. What do you think that he has that you can beat?)

Similarly, what hand do you think villian was putting you on? (In my experience, it's often tough to push a player off of a set or higher unless the board looks dangerous.)

Finally, to quote strassa:

[ QUOTE ]
Remember, the bigger the pot, the more incentive there is for your opponent to make a play with nothing. Keep the pot under control . . . . Very rarely in no limit holdem is it correct to value bet all three streets IMO.


[/ QUOTE ]

As strassa also suggests, you often get more information from checking and reacting, then just betting.

The Shadow
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:48 PM
unfrgvn unfrgvn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 48
Default Re: Can I get away from this hand?

Don't limp, either fold or raise it to 800. If he calls you can figure he has some big cards, if he comes over the top you can let it go and make the same raise when you have a hand. He may have still called with 5 7 and then you will still bust, but I think raising those marginal hands is better than limping.


Edit: Just noticed I gave the same advice as one of the previous posters. It was an independant observation, glad I'm not the only one who thinks this way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.