Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-18-2005, 07:12 PM

Default Bravery or stupidity?

<font color="blue">I'm fairly new at the table, but it's clear that this guy is a huge table bully. His stats:

<font color="red">Maniac</font> has a VPIP of 71% and a PFR of 49% with an AvgAgg of about 2 after 50 hands. I'm not sure if that's enough to qualify as an According-To-Hoyle "Maniac," but it's sure close enough in my book.</font>

Party Poker 2/4 Hold'em (10 handed) converter

Preflop: Pokey is MP3 with A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Pokey raises</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, SB <font color="#A500AF">(Maniac)</font> calls, BB calls, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls.

<font color="blue">Standard.</font>

Flop: (10 SB) 4[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Maniac bets</font>, BB folds, UTG+2 folds, MP1 folds, Pokey calls.

<font color="blue">Not a perfect flop, but one I can certainly live with. There's no way I trust <font color="red">Maniac</font>'s bet, but I see no compelling reason to raise heads-up. If he wants the driver's seat on this one, let him have it.</font>

Turn: (6 BB) T[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Maniac bets</font>, Pokey calls.

<font color="blue">I still feel that it's likely I'm ahead here, and <font color="red">Maniac</font> is simply trying to buy the pot. I give him one more chance to make a bluff.</font>

River: (8 BB) 6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>