Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2005, 03:38 PM
m bozeman m bozeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: florida
Posts: 11
Default Was the correct ruling made here?

$115 NL MTT yesterday with 100 players. We were down to the final table of 11 players. About 10 minutes into the action, player goes to muck his cards, and one of them accidently flipped over and was exposed. There were still other players to act behind him. The poker room manager told him he got a penalty, and had to sit out for an entire round. He was in about 7th place at the time with 60k chips, but the blinds were 10-20k, and were getting ready to go up to 20-40k. When he got to return to the game, he was all-in in the small blind. Was this a fair ruling? The same situation in the same tournament happened towards the beginning of the tournament, and no penalty was asessed. Can any dealers or poker room managers verify if this is standard procedure for that situation? I thought it was too harsh, considering the money that was at stake, and that it was an honest mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:12 PM
Randy_Refeld Randy_Refeld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Grand Casino - Tunica
Posts: 53
Default Re: Was the correct ruling made here?

[ QUOTE ]
About 10 minutes into the action, player goes to muck his cards, and one of them accidently flipped over and was exposed. There were still other players to act behind him. The poker room manager told him he got a penalty, and had to sit out for an entire round

[/ QUOTE ]

This is not a correct ruling. If you expose your cards before mucking them you MAY receive a penalty. In this case no penalty is in order (unless this was a repeat occurance that calls into question if it was an accident).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:24 PM
m bozeman m bozeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: florida
Posts: 11
Default Re: Was the correct ruling made here?

That's terrible. I felt really bad for the guy. I ended up finishing 5th, and he actually finished 4th. The hand he sat down to was an 8 2 offsuit, and he was against a J8. He flopped 2 pair, and stayed alive for a little bit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:35 PM
SheridanCat SheridanCat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 86
Default Re: Was the correct ruling made here?

Terrible ruling if it was an accident. Even if intentional, a first offense should get a warning. That's a death sentence. I would seriously have considered stalling the game.

Regards,

T
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:43 PM
m bozeman m bozeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: florida
Posts: 11
Default Re: Was the correct ruling made here?

I actually considered stalling, but it wasn't a time penalty, it was just one full round of hands, which was 10 at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:59 PM
Percula Percula is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Default Re: Was the correct ruling made here?

If the card(s) where exposed intentionally, then yes a penelty is in order at the final table. If it was not intentional, then a warning is in order. And frankly the way you discribe the action it was a complete happenstance and anything other than a "hey be careful mucking players" is harsh.

I agree with the other posters in that a warning should be given before a penelity, however the warning should have been made to all players at the final table BEFORE any action takes place.

A good tournament director will pause the clock once the final table is seated, and give the run down of the rules and what will happen if the rules are voilated. They will let all players know what deals (if any) can be made, how betting is going to be considered (forward motion for example, chips in fornt of cards, etc), rather play out of turn is binding or not, etc, etc. Anything else is simply weak...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:38 PM
Al_Capone_Junior Al_Capone_Junior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 3,026
Default Re: Was the correct ruling made here?

I agree, the penalty should only be assessed if it's obviously intentional, otherwise at most a warning should have been giving.

I feel that when you're the floor you should generally NOT be looking to hand out penalties in tournaments for petty bullcrap. [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

al
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.