Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded

Old 12-16-2005, 06:59 PM

Default New to 6 max - is this a standard fold?

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (6 max, 4 handed) converter

First let me say I'm new to 6 max and I'm not quite sure how to adjust my postflop play accordingly. I'm afraid that I may be folding more winners than I should since 6 max players are a little trickier than full handed. Is this fold still correct?

Villain is 32/18/1.7

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (6 max, 4 handed) converter

Preflop: Hero is BB with A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, SB completes, Hero checks.

Flop: (2 SB) T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, SB calls.

Turn: (2 BB) 8[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">SB raises</font>, Hero calls.

River: (6 BB) 4[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets</font>, Hero folds.
Old 12-16-2005, 07:05 PM

Default Re: New to 6 max - is this a standard fold?

Raise preflop, you've got a good hand with showdown value, position, and you'll see him limp here with a ton of crappy hands.

I call the river. He could have been making a move on the turn with a picked up draw, or just trying to push you out, thinking you're just trying to buy the pot with your position advantage. Over time you'll see enough, for the lack of a better word, retarded moves by these players that the river call will be standard.
Old 12-16-2005, 07:09 PM

Hi Pokerjunky-