Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-07-2005, 02:31 PM

Default AA - What the?

I'm a newb and literally overwhelmed looking through this site. I had no idea where to post this, so here goes anyway.

I understand the uniformly published way to play these hands BUT

AA or any high pocket pair for that matter; (if I'm right) the equity edge for these hands increases with number of opponents. That being said, I can see no reason why you would raise with these hands in EP. Call (letting poorer quality hands in) and hope for the chance to reraise is the way I see it. Sure, you're not going to win as often but in the the longrun you'll win more. (not to mention deception)
Why is this wrong?
and
Has anyone done any maths on - if you do raise, how much your equity edge drops due to the higher quality of hand now required to call.
Old 09-07-2005, 02:51 PM

Default Re: AA - What the?

I think there are a number of reasons to open raise AA from early position. In no certain order:

1) bad players will call anyway, particularly before the flop - charge them now before they get the chance to miss the flop and fold cheaply

2) meta game - if you raise a lot from early position with AJ, KQ, 99 type hands then you should raise your really big ones too - keep 'em guessing

3) your hand is easier to play post-flop when you raise - if you don't raise and the flop comes 6 handed you'll have no idea how to read a raise on most boards. By showing some preflop strength you define the hands that call you a little bit and can hopefully make more profitable decisions on the big bet streets. You prevent your own hand from being too well defined with #2 above