Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-31-2005, 02:07 PM

Default 1 Year as Pro(Long)

Today marks my one-year anniversary of officially turning pro. I had been playing for a summer job ever since graduating from Indiana University in May 04 with a degree in Business with an emphasis in Entrepreneurship. I looked for a job in the summer but all I have ever wanted to do was start my own business, I was pretty sure I didn’t want to work for anyone. My parents own a successful business and I wanted to stay local, so that was one option I had. The average starting salary out of IU for my degree was in the mid 30s and my parents offered me a whopping 28k, of which I naturally turned down, as I just don’t have that much interest in the business.

So meanwhile I put in a whopping $50 in my party poker account, I had been playing for a couple years while in college, just putting in a few hundred now and then and playing some 3/6 and 5/10, I lost most of it thanks to playing in the $20 and $30 multis of which I could never cash. I take this $50 and decide to play $10 SNGs(this is late May) I run alright and get up to $300 and start playing $20 SNGs, then I am 4 tabling these and quickly get built up to around $1000. I move to multi-tabling 2/4 and stay there until mid September. I think I got in around 35k hands at a 2.8 bb/100 and thought I was a damn good player. Then ran good at 3/6 for about the same # of hands when that all came crashing, my bb/100 just kept dropping and dropping and dropping to where I was a 1 bb/100 winner after about 100k. My vpip was low at 13.1 or so and I didn’t like my game whatsoever. But through my new rake deals and playing 8 tables, I was building a hefty bankroll.