Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-01-2005, 10:17 AM

Default Bad Laydown?

I'm pretty new to Omaha and I definitely need some help with my game.
$10 Omaha 8/b Tournament on Absolute. 70 started down to about 35-40.
Average stack is 2400, I have 4300 and am in the BB (100) w/ KQJ8 (suits do not matter). Five limpers including the SB.
Flop is 883. I bet out 400. Three callers. Turn is 3. I bet out 400. Same three callers. River is a 5. Bet 400 (figured kind of a blocking bet). Next guy goes all in for 3300. Next guy calls all in for 1650. Next guy folds.
I think about it for a while and fold.
Thoughts?
Old 06-01-2005, 10:56 AM

Default Re: Bad Laydown?

I would make that fold. Most of the time you will be getting none of the pot, because one of your opponents will have 8s full or 3s full and the other will have A2. You cannot even beat A8. Sometimes you will curse when you see both flip up A2, but you haven't risked that much of your stack, and you will still have an above average stack if you fold.

Why aren't you betting the full pot on the flop or the turn? If you want to take down the pot, you are not going to do it with small bets. Your hand is much too weak to be milking or value betting. You should either be betting big to try and win the pot or checking in hopes of getting a free card and filling up. I can't see a reason to let low-draws, the other 8, or overpairs stick around by making weak bets. Your play screams weakness/fear to me.

When you make that 400 bet on the river, anyone with a nut low + a pair should be jamming to try to push you out of the pot and 3/4 another nut low, because you have indicated how little you like your hand. If you had a boat, you would have been pushing hard on the flop and turn to force out the lows.
Old 06-01-2005, 10:58 AM