Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-26-2005, 02:21 PM

Default Stud8: A few general situations

1. You have (KT)K and raise and get one caller with a 5 showing. He catches a 6 and you catch a 9. You bet, he calls. He catches a 7 on 5th street, you catch a 3. Do you give this up?

2. Same except now he catches a 2 on 5th street. What is your plan for the rest of the hand?

3. You have 567 and there are three 4's up. Do you play the hand on 3rd street?

4. You have 567 and there are three 8's up. Do you play the hand now?

5. You have (23)6 and a K completes. There are 5 of the cards you need for a low up. Do you play?
Old 01-26-2005, 02:24 PM

Default Re: Stud8: A few general situations

I just want to say that I'm new to Stud8 and I have NO clue about the correct answers to these . . . so thanks for asking [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img].

*sits back and waits for the experts to get here*
Old 01-26-2005, 02:48 PM

Default Re: Stud8: A few general situations

These are excellent questions. I'd love to hear from the experts myself.

1. I'm probably checking and calling on fourth. On fifth, I usually give it up. You will have to put in three big bets to see if you can win one plus half the antes minus the rake. It is still possible that you could scoop if he's paired, but it is far more likely that he is the one that will scoop.

2. Here, I'm going to check and call and pray that he catches a Jack on sixth street. The straight possibilities--that he has it now or that he catches it later--are significantly lessened. If he catches an Ace, Trey, or Four on sixth, I probably give it up then unless I've improved. I'm not betting my hand unless I fill up.