Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8

Old 07-31-2005, 03:03 PM

Default How would you play this?

full PLO8 game. I'm an PLO8 noob so I hope I didn't butcher this badly. Stakes are .5/1 or 1/2 I can't remember, so lets just say .5/1

3 players limp ahead of me in late position. I have A246 suited to 6. I raise it to 3BB. Button, BB, and 2 limpers else calls. Flop is 235 two tone giving me the nut straight, nut low, and 6 high flush draw. Its checked to me, and I bet 8BB the pot. Everyone folds to BB who calls. Turn pairs the board and giving 2355 still two tone. Villain bets the pot (30BB)ish with plently left. I have about 40ishBB at this point. I push.

Villain is a reasonably competent player but neither conservative nor solid. He's capable of aggressively betting a marginal hand, and I believe he is also capable of folding a nut low with no high outs against someone else who has a probable nut low and strong high.

Thoughts?
Old 07-31-2005, 03:09 PM

Default Re: How would you play this?

i am not much of a pot limit player, but it seems with 90ish BB's in the pot with a wheel/flush draw and only 40 BB's left facing a 30 BB bet, you have to push it in there. i don't see what the problem is, actually. are worried about getting quartered to a wheel/full house?
Old 07-31-2005, 03:15 PM

Since I'm posting this, I'm sure you can guess that villain did in fact have A345. I've only played PLO8 once or twice a few months ago and this was the last hand I played. I'm thinking of starting up again so I thought I'd get some comments on how I did in that fateful hand. I think villain played his hand very well, and I wasn't that happy with how I played it. I'm not sure if I should have bet more PF or on the flop. Or maybe bet less.
Old 07-31-2005, 08:32 PM